LIVE 1987

Written, arranged and produced by
Mikel Rouse

Released 03/11/2022

Mikel Rouse Broken Consort went through a number of personnel changes from its inception in 1980 to its final concerts in 1993. This lineup of James Bergman, Ellery Eskelin and Bill Tesar was a highlight of the chamber group’s history, one that fully exploited the compositional nature of the the ensemble while embracing the original jazz roots that inspired the formation of the group. This performance is from a run at the venerable Dance Theater Workshop that saw the likes of Sting and his entourage sniffing around for what ‘New Music’ was and how they could exploit what was happening in NYC. The Jade Tiger BONUS TRACK is from a 1986 performance at the Alternative Museum in NYC.

Mastered at Center of the Earth NYC

1. Full Flow
2. #2
3. Quick Thrust
4. Sea Wind
5.High Frontier
6. Operation Flower
7. #1
8. Ranger
9. Cape Thunder
10. #3
11. Jade Tiger (Bonus Track Live 1986)